speakers » Gore Al

founder Current

Al Gore served as Vice President of the United States from 1993 to 2001 under President Bill Clinton. He was involved in American politics for 24 years, serving first in the U.S. House of Representatives (1977–85) and later in the U.S. Senate (1985–93) before becoming Vice President. Gore was the Democratic nominee for president in the 2000 presidential election. He won the popular vote by approximately 500,000 votes, but ultimately lost the electoral college to Republican candidate George W. Bush when the legal controversy over the Florida election recount was eventually settled in the U.S. Supreme Court by a 5–4 margin in favour of Bush. He is currently the founder and chair of Alliance for Climate Protection, the co-founder and chair of Generation Investment Management, the co-founder and chair of Current, an independently owned cable and satellite television network for young people based on viewer-created content and citizen journalism, a member of the Board of Directors of Apple Computer and a senior advisor to Google. He is also a partner in the venture capital firm Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, heading that firm’s climate change solutions group. In addition, he is on the faculty of Middle Tennessee State University as a visiting professor, and was a visiting professor at Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, Fisk University, and the University of California, Los Angeles. Since his earliest days in the U.S. Congress 30 years ago, Al Gore has been a leading advocate for confronting the threat of global warming. He is the author of Earth in the Balance: Ecology and the Human Spirit (1992), An Inconvenient Truth: The Planetary Emergency of Global Warming and What We Can Do About It (2006), The Assault on Reason (2007) and Our Choice: A Plan to Solve the Climate Crisis (2009). He also starred in the 2006 documentary An Inconvenient Truth, which won an Academy Award for Best Documentary in 2007. He is the recipient of a number of awards including the Nobel Peace Prize (together with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) in 2007, a Primetime Emmy Award for Current TV in 2007, a Webby Award in 2005 and the Prince of Asturias Award in 2007 for International Cooperation.